Letter to My Mother

In my letter to my mother:
I tell her I’ve grown up
I don’t need her anymore
I’ve got a good job
I’ve found what I’ve been looking for

In my letter to my mother:
I thank her for all she’s done
Give her credit for making me strong
and telling me I dance to my own drum

In my letter to my mother:
I laugh at all the good memories
the long road trips with me as, Navigator
and how it (may have) led to me becoming a
     Geography Major

In my letter to my mother:
I tell her, her version of success is not my own
That times have changed
and I am the Master, of me, my only one.

In my letter to my mother:
I apologize – for not having children yet
For not giving her the gift
of letting them grow up
before she could forget

In my letter to my mother:
I thank her for teaching me
For gliding me round the rink on ice skates
guiding me on a journey of
what it means to be free

In my letter to my mother:
I tell her I’m upset
I tell her I’ve learned so much from her
and I’m not quite ready
for her to go just yet

In my letter to my mother:
I realize life is round
How I need to build my circle
to find my friends, build family now
because time is lost, it’s never found

In my letter to my mother:
I’m forever grateful
I find the gifts
I find my people

In my letter to my mother:
I begin to remember
I know I can choose
She’s in me
I can never forget her

20140331_184952
Leave a Reply

